Thread: Help with Traps

josh8416 is offline Associate Member

Help with Traps

alright i need some help, i cant get my traps big when im just standing there. like ive been told they are big, but thats when im flexing. i want them to stick up ALOT when im just standing there, so what can i do?? ive been doing shoulders 1 time a week, switched to 2 days a week, and still didnt get any results. ive been working on them for about 6 months really hard, i dont get it!!! i do, db shrugs, 3 set of 10 heavy, and then drop down and go very slow with the 45 plates. then the front and side raises(i think thats what they are called). i usually do about 4 different exercises with 3 set of 8-10 each thing..What is the best, to make them stand up..thanks

Try this exercise..got it from a friend, and i've been doing it for a while now. Not sure what kind of weight you use..but here's what I do. Do barbell shrugs, start off with 135 (its real light, you can do them all day, so just make sure you do like 15, or enough to really get the blood flowing). Then have your partner add 2 more plates (225) shrug them immediately until failure. Then have your partner add 2 more plates (315) and shrug them immediaetly untill failure. Then have your partner take off 2 plates (225 again) and do immediately until failure, and then finally strip off 2 more plates (135 again) and do them until failure. I do the whole thing in a continuous motion, with only 5-10 seconds (the amount of time it takes my parter to add/strip the weight) rest in between each set. Just make sure your really squeezing at the top, don't just swing them up like so many people do.

Hypertrophy is offline Senior Member
    Do cleans next time and tell me how sore your traps become.

bluethunder is offline Anabolic Member
    Deads too.

Iowa is offline Banned