Terinox is offline The One & Only

Please Help, Lower Back Pain During Hockey!

Okay, so when I play ice hockey, sometimes (especially lately), after about just 10-15 minutes of skating around, my lower back starts aching like mad. It's hard to describe the pain, it's not like a really "bad" pain, it's sort of like the lower back is just tired, and it's a dull sort of ache, that hurts for a while, and if I actually lean mostly back while I rest on the bench, it starts to get a bit better, but obviously comes back right when I get on the ice.

Why does this happen? Do I have a weak lower back? Am I too overweight to handle the skating? I've been playing for about 2 months now, so I would think it's not a beginning of season thing, this problem lasting quite some time. I popped like 2 Aspirin once before going out, and I think it helped, but not sure if it was the Aspirin for sure.

Any suggestions? Ideas?

By the way, I workout the back once a week, and don't really do a lower back exercise. I do lat pulldowns, bent over rows with the bar, sometimes dead lifts, seated row, and that's about it.

Please! I love playing hockey, need to solve this problem ASAP!
    Thnx,
    T.

dive_kid is offline Anabolic Member
    I got that before while standing around ( lol not an issue any more)
    new insoles in my work boots fixed it. might work for hockey too

Bump

biglouie250 is offline Anabolic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Terinox
    Okay, so when I play ice hockey, sometimes (especially lately), after about just 10-15 minutes of skating around, my lower back starts aching like mad. It's hard to describe the pain, it's not like a really "bad" pain, it's sort of like the lower back is just tired, and it's a dull sort of ache, that hurts for a while, and if I actually lean mostly back while I rest on the bench, it starts to get a bit better, but obviously comes back right when I get on the ice.