Thread: Cover letter

Sir Lifts-a-lot is offline Senior Member

Cover letter

So I am about to write a cover letter for a possible new job and for the life of me I don't know what to put in it. It has been about five years since I did this last. What are you fellas putting in them these days to catch employers eyes?

SVTmuscle is offline Gsxxr's Bitch
    google it, check out some examples are Resumeprowriters

JiGGaMaN is offline Banned
    dont even include one. Unless you are trying to hide the pile of crap on the next page.

daem is offline Anabolic Member
    I used to work in the career center at my university for a job and reviewed/wrote countless resumese/cover letters before I graduated, so I know the importance.

As far as cover letters go, it depends on what kind of role you are seeking. Many professional roles require top notch communications skills, and a cover letter allows you to demonstrate your writing abilities.

A cover letter can often times help differentiate candidates as part of a pre-screen. Also, it can help a recruiter ask the right questions and find out more about a candidate in a shorter amount of time.

Cover letters generally dive DEEP into specific resume items that deserve special attention.

One word of caution...You can do alot of damage with a poor cover letter, so keep that in mind when writing.

Good luck...If you want some more advice, post the industry/role you are looking at and I can tell you some general tips that may apply to you.
    Last edited by daem; 09-02-2008 at 09:07 PM.

Rugger02 is offline Anabolic Member
    I'll give you an example of mine when I get home, what position are you applying for?

Sir Lifts-a-lot is offline Senior Member
    Hey fellas sorry for not getting back to you sooner.

The position is for a personal assistants position for a relatively high class VIP.