hawthorne1010 is offline New Member

Is excessive cardio dangerous?

I'm new to all this and am considering a cycle of deca just to dip my toe in the water, so to speak. Perhaps 8-12 week cycle.

I am a marathon runner. I run 40-50 miles per week and as much as 60 miles in a week during peak training. I started running marathons two years ago after breaking my wrist and having to give up lifting for a few months. I've run more than seven in the past two years.

Now I want the best of both worlds. I used to be, and to some extent still am, a gym rat. I'm 5'10", 215 pounds and ran a sub-4-hour marathon two months ago. I'm in my mid-30s, in case that's important.

I guess to my question before I ramble too much: Am I risking any kind of heart damage or other cardiovascular damage?

I realize excessive cardio can/will negate some or a lot of the gains, and any input about that is appreciated. Mostly, I want to make sure I don't do permanent damage to my heart or other vital bits or, at worst, drop dead.

I do realize running and lifting to bulk up are contradictory, but I am a walking contradiction. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Well, after reading for another couple of hours, I'm starting to see some of the ignorance of my post. Apparently, deca is not what is recommended for a first-timer. Looks like test is the way to go for an initial cycle. Any specific form the most recommended?

I apologize if I insulted anyone's intelligence. As I said, I'm new to this and am just trying to find my way. My initial question still stands, though, as I'm concerned of the impact of going through a regime could have on my heart and anything else with running 40 to 60 miles per week.

Btw, I've been lifting at least 20 years off and on, so I know my way around the gym. The largest I've been was a little more than 250 pounds and I've fought as big as 245 pounds.

Again, thanks.

MartyMcFly is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by hawthorne1010