Question when do the growth plates actually fuse and what stunts them

Found this, any thoughts?

"Note that the clavicles (the bones that determine your shoulder width) are the last to stop growing. So even if you've reached your ultimate height, you may not have reached your ultimate shoulder width yet. For that reason alone I would wait as long as possible before starting steroid use .

I've got extraordinarily narrow shoulders so I'm particularly sensitive to this issue - and no, I haven't used steroids (yet). I'm not a doctor, but my readings on the subject suggest that while epiphyseal closure (fusion of the growth plates) is more or less complete within a few years of puberty in females, it may not be complete in males until around age 25.

(I did once read that the clavicles may not completely fuse in some individuals until as late as 35, but can't find the reference.)

If you really feel the need to juice at an earlier age, keep in mind that it's estrogen and estrodiol that cause epiphyseal closure, so stay with non-aromatizing steroids such as Anavar or Primobolan , rather than aromatizing steroids such as dbol or test. I believe Anavar is in fact approved for use in children (not that you'll find many doctors these days who would have the guts to prescribe it)."

-jwillow
    (body building . com)

MuscleScience is offline ~AR-Elite-Hall of Famer~
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by MuscleScience View Post
    The Pineal gland of the brain is important gland that facilitates and eventually terminates the process of puberty. Around the late teens to early twenties the Pineal gland is signaled to shut down and it eventually calcifies and because inactive in adults or at least that is what it believed.