limping is offline New Member

Desperately seeking advice - recovery post surgery with complications

Hello - total newbie here. You can skip the long story below by just reading that I've had four knee surgeries over the past 29 months, and rehab has just been a total failure. I'm 30 years old and staring at the prospect of walking with a limp for the rest of my life, and I'll pretty much do anything to avoid that.

Long story
    Tore ACL, allograft surgery October 2007 - PT was unsuccessful, so I went in for second surgery 5/08 to remove scar tissue (cyclops lesion). That surgery was botched, caused a systemic staph infection that nearly proved fatal. Bad times. Third surgery 9 days later to wash out the joint and kill the infection. 8 weeks with a PICC line in my arm, three months on another planet from oxycontin, crutches, the whole shebang. PT proves unsucessful for the next 14 months, so we do a fourth surgery in August 2009 to clean up additional scar tissue.

The graft is strong, I have an endpoint, etc. The problem is that throughout rehab, my physical therapists (I went through about 8 of them over 2.5 years) failed to diagnose the primary problem: the VMO (Vastus medialis) never strengthened properly. I was single leg pressing 400 pounds (I know, I know, that's diddlysquat for most guys here, but I've never been a heavy lifter) on the "bad" leg, but it was just my hammies and glutes compensating. Finally I'm working with a good PT (the guys who did Jerry Rice's ACL rehab) and they just say that after nearly 30 months of weakness, the VMO is really slow to grow and get bigger, and I just have to keep working at it, keep strengthening them, and be patient.