Johnno is offline Junior Member

Steroids and Diving?

Hi . I'm new to the forum and a first timer with anabolics. I have been reading up the fact that using test will create nitrogen retention in the muscles which is a positive thing when it comes to building. However I work as a commercial diver and nitrogen in diving is a negative as this relates directly to your susceptibility to the 'bends'.Does anyone know if nitrogen retention in the muscles has the same effect as nitrogen in the bloodstream in a diving enviroment?

thex95 is offline Senior Member
    whooo intense second post, welcome to the board bro. I hope a vet on here can help you out on this one.

Thanks man. I know its an unsual one. But I been diving all my life and nitrogen is considered the enemy in decompression. So it really hit me when 'nitrogen retention in the muscles' was mentioned regarding 'test'. So is that all anabolics or just certain ones??

songdog is offline ARs TOP DOG ~ MONITOR ~
    Talk to Bonaparte he is got a answer for everything.

How do I talk to Bonaparte?

gonzo6183 is offline Senior Member
    No need mate, its fine. I know for myself and many others (all commercial) that there is no issues. But to answer your question, NO nitrogen retention in muscle is not the same as in the bloodstream. Nitrogen in the muscle is not a gas

Times Roman is offline Anabolic Member
    I'm a life member of NAUI, havn't dove in years, but nitrogen in the blood is one thing, in the muscle another. here's my understanding: nitrogen in the blood is very susceptible to atmoshperic changes, the lower you go, the more you can disolve in liquid (blood) the higher you go, the less. But nitrogen in muscle tissue is much different. Muscle doesn't absorb nitrogen except very very slowly, either way. And when it does absorb nitrogen, it is bound to a solid (tissue) instead of liquid (blood) which means it will have a much higher boiling point.