Thread: mass vs cut

BIGTOY79 is offline Associate Member

mass vs cut

Hello all,

I hope I can get some answers to my questions here :-)

I've been training for about 20 years, but there's so many different advises given by so many professional that confuse the he'll out of me.

Exemple: when u train very heavy (4 to 6) it's for strenght, 8 to 12 is for muscle mass, above that we go into endurance.

I once asked a coach how to train my arms because they get big with extremely little training. He told me go very heavy (4 to 6) and do very short rests (30 secs)

Here is the Confusion, if I wasn't to ask him, I would of done the contrary, which is light weight for about 15 to 20 reps and still go like he advised on short rest (30 secs)

Can I please have some clarifications on that point

Thanks to all

Metalject is offline Knowledgeable Member
    There's really no such thing as the perfect rep range for everyone. Find what works best for you. I do think most people do more than they need to do for arms, speaking in terms of number of sets but then again some guys do great with tons of sets, just not most.

What I prefer, I like to do arms on their own day. 6-8 sets for bi's and 8-9 sets for tri's. Reps range anywhere from 8-15. Sometimes I'll do all tri's first and then all bi's but most of the time I prefer to go back and forth...one bi exercise, on tri exercise and so on. I have no idea if going back and forth like that makes a significant difference in growth...it's just how I like to train arms.

And I guess I should mention I train the same whether bulking or cutting....only difference during cutting is less food, more cardio and more gear.

RangerDanger830 is offline Knowledgeable Member
    Well being a biologist I can shed some light on some of this although none of it is definitive and even I do not have the exact answer. But here is what I do know..