AZArmor is offline New Member

Cutting and fat loss questions?

Hey guys, I've been poking around the forums for the past couple of nights and figured I'd start asking questions. I'm posting this in both this thread and the nutrition because I have questions in both.

Background on me:

I'm a larger guy at 5'8 185-190 lbs about 20% body fat. I've been on a mission to lose weight since I was about 13(I'm 25 now) and after hitting a low of 165 when I was 18 I popped back up to where I'm at now and haven't been able to drop back down since.

To lose the weight originally I started running 5-6 miles a day, when that stopped working I started training in MMA and completed the Insanity and P90x programs(which didn't give many results). I joined the Army reserve and went to basic where I lost a few pounds, but gained them back soon after getting back to normal life once again. Through all of this I got into amazing shape - I can run my two miles in 12:30 and maxing my push ups and sit ups to this day. Despite that, my body fat will not change despite what I do. My diet consists of recipes exclusively out of the Abs Diet cookbook, along with some Naked smoothies and Lean Shake(not sure what company makes it, but I'm sure you've all seen it at the GNC) as snacks and to make sure I'm getting all I need. I use 1.M.R. or B-vitamins as a pre-workout and Gold Standard whey as a post, along with a multivitamin drink called Verve

I've tried hydroxycut with a bit of results, but lost a ton of strength so I quit that. Then I tried OxyElite Pro, but it made me feel like hell, I stopped before results could be realized.

I'm currently doing all of the above and working through Insanity once again(along with some extra running, kickboxing, and rope climbing).

Questions:

Does weight loss work the same as building muscle, in that if you don't rest you won't lose weight?