Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    fxhhnp is offline New Member

newbie questions - diet, trt, aas?

Hi all -

I'm 37 years old, 5'9 and currently about 150lbs.

I started training (off and on) when I was 28. At that time I was about 130lbs and wasn't even strong enough to get 135 off the rack, let alone bench or squat it. I've got extremely small joints (I need to customize wrist watches to fit me), very high metabolism, and a piss poor vertical jump. Even though I don't do cardio anymore, when I do, it's extremely easy for me to excel in.

If I bulk for about 6 months and follow Rippetoe then I'll end up with bench 185x5, squat 225x5, deadlift 365x5. Not impressive numbers, but stronger than I normally am. At that point I'm usually about 165lbs and 20% bf.

The problems come for me when I try to tweak things so I don't gain so much fat. If I'm at 10% bf then 150lbs is sort of a brick wall for me. It's very difficult to get past. If I want to get stronger, it seems like I end up at 20% bf or more. I've tried dirty bulking, generic clean bulking, lean gains, etc.

To complicate things somewhat, I had some bloodwork done and my testosterone is at 399 ng/dl (the range is from 280 to 1100). My doctor is willing to write a rx for 200mg of test a week + adex + hcg . It's there if I want it, but I haven't taken it. I think (hope) I can get things working with my diet.

Here is the advice I'm getting from my friends who lift:

Friend A: Take the TRT. Eat a lot and lift heavy.
    Friend B: If you're going to take TRT you might as well do your first cycle instead.
    Friend C: Don't take exogenous testosterone. Lift hard and dirty bulk for 18 months and then cut.
    Friend D: Don't take exogenous testosterone. Find a way to clean bulk. You're probably doing something wrong.

Where should I focus my energy?

Thanks for your help

dredlifter is offline Junior Member