Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Protein intake theory revised and abandoning 40/40/20???

Times Roman is offline Anabolic Member

Protein intake theory revised and abandoning 40/40/20???

Mates

I've been quiet on this subject lately and wanted some time to try and figure out a dilemma I'm experiencing. The dilemma is as follows:

I've been tracking my nutritional intake for several months now, and learning about myself, and how certain foods affect me. Some of you may be aware of the excel spreadsheet I use called the Macro Calculator. It details out all the foods you can eat, and tracks the macros on a per meal basis and a total for the day. It also calculates your TDEE, and protein requirement.

Over time, I was able to determine through experience my TDEE is about 3,100 cals/day. At this intake, my weight average fluctuation was constant for about a two month period, which validates 3,100 cals/day as my TDEE.

After determining my TDEE, I began to really clean up my diet. I came off whey protein powder entirely. My primary protein source became liquid egg whites and canned chicken. Both are more or less pure protein sources with no fat or carbs. Additionally, I switched from grain based carbs to fruit based carbs. Once I switched carb sources, my mood improved, and my energy levels in the gym increased. (I do not know if this is phenomenon is unique to me or is applicable to weight lifters in general.) Additionally, I wanted to slowly start a clean bulk, and so I upped my caloric intake 10%, from 3,100 to 3,400 cals/day. Previously, my macro split was the typical 40/40/20 and it became something like 50/35/15 in round numbers. And then something strange happened. My intended "clean bulk" had me losing a pound or two a month.

How can this be?

How can I increase my caloric intake 10% and slowly start losing weight?

Did the increase in my fiber intake have something to do with it?