Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Gallowmere
  • 1 Post By EllisWyatt
  • 1 Post By Beetlegeuse
  • 1 Post By EllisWyatt

Thread: Ditch Androgel for Cyp? If so, how much?

Beetlegeuse is offline Knowledgeable Member

Ditch Androgel for Cyp? If so, how much?

This is a little complicated because I am beholding to the VA for mt TRT, which means I have very little say-so in steering my course of treatment. And it isn't in my best interest that I let them know I'm also on hCG . Skip to "Conclusion" if you can't be bothered with the details.

Part A
    When the VA first put me on TRT, I weaseled out of pinning because I was leery of needles and I expected the Androgel to do the same job. But I'm a bit more AAS-literate now, and I've been self-medicating with hCG for several months. A 31-gauge needle injecting water sub-q doesn't exactly line up with a larger bore needle injecting Cyp IM, but I now look at a lifetime of pinning with less dread due to the fact that I've been doing it on the small-scale until it's become routine.

Part B
    I firmly believe I'm benefiting from the Androgel but I've reached the point where I'm willing to consider I might see notably better results by switching to Cyp (which I believe is the VA's injectable of choice). On two separate occasions my VA PCP has made me come in for pre-9 am endocrine panels, with it specified that the Androgel should be administered 2-3 hours prior. In neither of those cases did my Total T number exceed 200. Pre-TRT it was very low 100s. The VA doesn't routinely test for Free T and my observation has been that they base all diagnoses off Total. I know Total doesn't carry a lot of diagnostic weight on this board, but that's all I have to work with.

Part C