oatmeal69 is offline Productive Member

New guy with more Q's than A's.

Hey folks,
    5'9, 178, 41.9 years old.

I have been researching here and elsewhere pretty actively for a couple weeks. I've also been researching and contemplating a cycle over the last several years, but haven't pulled the trigger yet.
    I'm 42 next week, I've been training in one form or another for most of my adult life. I have been dieting for the past 10 months, of which I've been leaning for the past 5. My diet is very clean and pretty well dialed-in.

I attend X-Fit 4-5 days weekly, as well as run 12-15 miles 4-5 days weekly. (when I was trying to bulk up, I wasn't running) Before that, I had been doing more traditional body-part per day workouts, and bulk up/trim down routines for years. My goal is not to get huge. I've always been active and prefer lean over big.

Since I turned about 38 or so, I've noticed it's exponentially harder to gain muscle, or especially to lose fat while keeping it. I'm in a rut of either being able to gain, but not keep extra fat off, or lose, but not be able to retain muscle. I am working and dieting far too hard to not see the results I'm wanting, and I'm REALLY feeling my age the last few years.

Dropping weight has never been a problem for me. Keeping muscle while doing it though, just gets harder as I go along. Nowadays, once I get a calorie level that allows me to slowly drop weight, I start inevitably losing muscle and strength. My workouts become much less intense and more of a drag too.

Anyway, I read the "Ajax Post" many times, and It sounds much like my story. Trouble is that as I read opinions about a topic, there are always others who think differently, or exactly the opposite. I think I've found some basic consensus, but it seems there's still a lot to sift through. I'm hoping some of you guys can help me clarify, and help find the right plan for me.