yannick35 is offline Anabolic Member

Unhappy turned down a job in It to stay in school

A guy near my house has a computer shop, he gave me an interview last week, i was very interesed in me and wanted to give me another interview.

I have 12 years of experience has a computer technicien and had some basic networking skills.

I decided since my recent layoff to get back in school and get up to date with network security, management, implementation.

The teacher at night really sucks, i dont like him at all, he seems bored has hell and offended each time you ask a question, the teacher in day time is really cool and since the class is almost empty he agreed to really show me the ropes in networking, how routers work, security, DNS DHCP and all the rest. I can't refuse coaching like this.

I was not looking for a job at the moment because my plan was clear finish school, i just finish a contract of one month and i implemented and secured a network in a small office.

Now for the job offer i turned down, the guy tells me that i have to get an A+ certification before he hires me, and he said that he is willing to pay half of the price to get is employ certified.

I live in Canada where certifications don't mean anything anymore, my school teacher, and most of the people there who are in contact with the current job market tell me this. Certification are worth nothing, employers will not pay more money because you have time, and they will look a lot more into experience then certifications.

For my part i dont want to spend all my time getting certified and to get payed 30k a year, because that is pertty much the salary i was offered.

Matt is offline AR's Hot British Pimp Daddy ~HOF~
    Blog Entries
    Lol after reading your post i think you've made the right choice to stay in school.

Now see if theres an English class you can sign up for...

Cloe85 is offline Female Member