Nooomoto is offline Productive Member

AR-15 tech question for gun guys

Ok, so about a year ago I bought an Olympic Arms Ar-15 to screw around with because I didn't want to beat on my Colts which are rather expensive.

I didn't shoot it much, maybe 200 rounds through it. This past couple weeks I was at Fort Bragg and was on the shooting range doing some heavy shooting, and I started having problems.

After every 2-3 rounds the bolt would remain back, and not load the next round. I'd have to hit the bolt catch release to allow it to slide forward and chamber the next round.

My buddy and I figured it was just due to the weapon being new, so we stripped it, oiled the shit out of it and continued. It started doing it every 5-6 rounds. We stripped it again, some oil on the buffer spring figuring that might be the problem. My friend rapid fired about 20 rounds through it, the last two fired with one trigger pull...UH OH.

So then I started shooting it again, after a full magazine, it double loaded two rounds into the chamber. I cleared the jam and started again, it then did the double-fire thing to me. Two rounds with one trigger pull.

We discovered that when cycling the weapon, if you don't fully depress and release the trigger after each round, it will fire two rounds.

This situation can be replicated with a standard military function check on the rifle. I can make the rifle fire two rounds with one trigger pull.

I emailed Oly Arms and didnt get a response. Searching the web I found that there is one guy that handles warranty work and he's a cockface. I figure he just won't reply. My phone calls went unanswered.

At this point I'm thinking to replace the lower receiver parts with a new parts kit from DPMS or something.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

o-lineman60 is offline Junior Member