TheSentinal is offline Member

Keeping Your Hair Can Be Done

Anyone who feels their hair helps them from an appearance standpoint should be concerned about AAS use and hair loss. It is generally advised to be cautious and not assume you are safe from MPB (male pattern baldness) regardless of family history. I thought I would never lose hair until a 12 week cycle of SUS 250 suddenly changed my mind. At week 8, I found out that Mother Nature had MPB clearly in my future and I had brought it to myself years early through AAS use. This occurred about 9 months ago and I was able to quickly educate myself on how to fight and win the hair loss battle. Many of us here will just face the inevitable and shave it off. I am one who was not ready and chose to keep my hair as long as I can. I wanted to take some time and outline the symptoms, basics medical factors and treatment that stopped my hair loss and reversed it. I am not a doctor nor is this a promise to cure MPB. However, it worked for me and I believe it can help others as well. Here we go:

Why it happens when using AAS

First, AAS do not cause MPB, period. They do speed up the process if you are genetically predispositioned to hair loss. For those who will get or have MPB, DHT sends a signal to your immune system to attack your hair follicles. DHT is a byproduct of Testosterone and occurs naturally in your body. When you are taking AAS, the amount of DHT increases substantially and overwhelms the natural chemical relationship in your scalp. The extra DHT starts a series of interactions that cause certain hair types to be recognized as intruders to your body. These hairs are typically located on the top and crown of your head. Once started, the process cannot be reversed, it can only be halted and managed. You can restore hair, but you will never be free of MPB. For me, I calculate that I started the MPB process 8 months ago that would have naturally occurred 20 years from now.

Symptoms and Signs