Thread: Wrists

TheFightForGood is offline New Member

Wrists

First off, let me introduce myself as I am new to these forums. I've been reading them for awhile, but have not posted up until now.

I've been lifting pretty well for 3 months now, and made LOTS of gain. I started at 121 and am now at 145. Goal is 160 in another 2 1/2 months, and at my current rate that shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Anyways, here's my question. I've always had VERY skinny wrists (wrap my thumb to my pinky and touch). I've been doing forearm workouts, but they just seem to work the base, closer to the elbow without adding anything at all to my wrists. It actually looks almost silly because my forearms are normally sized and my wrists are very small.

Is there anything I can do to gain size in my wrists?

Thanks!

1bmf is offline Junior Member
    Try wrist curls and reverse wrist curls

TheFightForGood is offline New Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 1bmf
    Try wrist curls and reverse wrist curls

I already do both, and like I said before, they only seem to work the half of my forearm closest to my elbow with not affect to wrist size at all.

Papi93 is offline AR VET
    Do you use lifting straps for any of your lifts? If so, get rid of them.

Papi93 is offline AR VET
    For wrist flexors, the Farmer's Walk with dumbbells or Static Holds with a barbell.
    For wrist extensors, barbell reverse curls.

brundle is offline Associate Member
    I've always had small wrists and forearms, but I've gained a little size by doing this:
    For wrist curls, when you lower the bar, let it roll down your fingers. (make sure you don't drop the bar though). This will strengthen your fingers and hopefully make your wrists bigger. It worked for me!
    [I apologize if you already know this.]

if you can touch your thumb to your pinky at your wrist that does not have much to do with muscle, more of bone structure