BigJames is offline Senior Member

Back Training...

I am outlining some back training routines I am thinking of alternating and I am looking for comments from more experienced trainers on my excersize selections and training volume. Back has always been a weak point for me due to the fact that I always skipped back day when I started training years ago. Some may disagree with my placement of Deadlifts at the end of the routines, but my lower back is very prone to strain and I am working to strengthen it...that said, I am more warmed up at the end of the workout and can get pumped lifting less and therefore put my back in less risk of injury.

Back Workout #1 - Lat Priority
    Wide Grip Chins (3 sets of 6 reps)
    Wide Grip Pulldowns (1 set - to finish off the above)
    T-Bar Rows (3 Sets)
    Pull Overs (3 sets)
    Traps (3 sets)
    Deadlifts (3 sets)

Back Workout #2 - Upper Back Priority
    Bent Barbell Rows (4 sets)
    High Rows (3 sets)
    T-Bar Rows (3 Sets)
    Wide Grip Pulldowns (3 sets)
    Hyperextensions (3 sets)
    Traps (3 sets)

Back Workout #3 - Pullover Priority
    Pullovers (4 sets)
    High Rows (3 sets)
    One Arm Dumbbell Rows (3 sets)
    Wide Grip Pull Downs (3 sets)
    Hyperextensions (3 sets)
    Traps (3 sets)

Back Workout #4 - Lower Back Priority
    Deadlifts (4 sets)
    Wide Grip Chins (3 sets)
    Seated Rows (3 sets)
    T-bar Rows (3 sets)
    Traps (3 sets)

Comments/suggestions? I would alternate these every week and lift as hard as I can for each exersize.

Thanks,

PurplePatriot is offline Associate Member
    To me it looks like you have too many exercises per day. heavier weights and about 3-4 exercises for the back 5 max. deadlifts are great, i get so many compliments from my guy friends saying how much its grown over a short period of time. And i have a solution for the lower back probs you have while doing it.