sphincter is offline Member

what's best exercise for back?

I want to make my back more broad and generally better looking. what's best exercises/routine to get my back up to par...

Big
    Big is offline Retired~ AR-Hall of Famer ~ "Enforcer"
    I like wide-grip pull-ups, weighted if you can, for lat width, and lower cable pulls for back thickness.

Johny-too-small is offline Vive Memor Leti
    deads can do some good too.

Quote Originally Posted by Ima******ger View Post
    I like wide-grip pull-ups, weighted if you can, for lat width, and lower cable pulls for back thickness.
    lower cable pulls? example/explanation please? I'm not good with the terminology as I'm a beginner BBer and have no mentor/training partner at all

Big
    Big is offline Retired~ AR-Hall of Famer ~ "Enforcer"
    the first exercise in this video:
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=y6-y9uN9t4E

O.K. I've done those then.. I call it a seated row though... that's what I write in my workout notes anyway. I'll do more now though. thanks.

sonnygll is offline Member
    I think free weights are better. I like the standard bent over row, however many people get the form wrong. Pullups and chins are another good general back exercise, which are very lat heavy, where as the rows are more heavy on traps, romboids, etc. Then a deadlift variation of some kind is good for not only lower back but the hamstrings and the whole posterior chain for that matter.

You can do some of your back work underhand to work the biceps with it too.

You can throw in close grip palm facing chins on occasion. Another good one to try every now and then are the barbell T-bar rows.

Use dumbbells sometimes. You can do the standard single arm, or lay prone on a bench and do both.

These are all excellent back exercises to put in your rotation.

You should really work the back from both the horizontal and vertical plain.

yungfaceb3 is offline Associate Member