lifesabeach is offline New Member

Newbie would appreciate some help

Hi everyone,

Firstly I have spent hours reading through different areas of the forum and it has been a real education so from a newbie's point of view thanks to you all.

I am now in my mid thirties and havent trained for about fifteen years basically I have let myself go and now am committed to getting back in shape. I started training approx 2 months ago. My problem is that there is such a massive amount of theories and training regimes. Also there seems to be a lot of contradiction.

I realise that it will take a very long time to educate myself about diet/training and I am looking forward to doing this whilst training, I just dont want to find out in a few months time that what I am currently doing has been a waste of time!

Obviously to help you guys need some info so here goes....

My aim is to reduce my BF to an extent that I feel confident during the summer for example. My original aim was to just "lose weight" but from what I have learnt already the key seems to be % bf rather than a set weight for a person? Once I have lost the fat then I can decide on the next phase. from my research on the forum so far the answer seems to be Cardio / Cardio/ oh yeah and more cardio!

Stats -

Height 5'11
    Weight 207lbs (was 224 at start)
    BF 20% (but not sure)
    Injury free
    Never done a cycle.
    Have a fairly physical job.
    Have been taking multi vitamins/Trib/Glucosamine

Diet -

I am still trying to learn enough to put together a detailed diet.At the moment I have cut out all fast food / high sugar foods / beer. I also avoid as much high fat and fried foods. I have started eating less more regularly and more fruit and veg. On average I think I am ending up with about 800kcal a day deficit. I used to be a very heavy drinker but am now virtually teetotal

Training -