Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By gearbox

Thread: Doing a lot of cardio has caused severe soreness, do it anyway?

boxingfan30 is offline Member

Doing a lot of cardio has caused severe soreness, do it anyway?

I've always heard that if you're sore... don't workout until the soreness goes away. I am now doing 80 minutes 4-5 times a week at a pretty decent intensity. My legs are quite sore though and I've taken off 2 days, but they are still pretty tender.

I've been doing this amount of work for 2 or 3 months now without more than a 2 days of rest at a time (usually only 1).

Is it just time for me to take a few days off and let everything heal completely before I start up again?

gearbox is offline Knowledgeable Member
    Yes. I would give your legs and cns a break. Everyone follows a different protocol but we all need rest at some point. Remember you grow, rebuild, and recuperate when you rest.
    boxingfan30 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by gearbox View Post
    Yes. I would give your legs and cns a break. Everyone follows a different protocol but we all need rest at some point. Remember you grow, rebuild, and recuperate when you rest.
    Thanks. I just have issues with guilt when I'm not doing my cardio. I know ultimately it's better for me, but it's hard to just not do it.

Blog Entries
    You can switch to HIIT type cardio also. That can cut your time in half, lead to increase muscle mass, and not affect your hormones as much.

Quote Originally Posted by hellomycognomen View Post
    You can switch to HIIT type cardio also. That can cut your time in half, lead to increase muscle mass, and not affect your hormones as much.
    I've just really felt drained. Very tired all the time and I know that I'm not getting as much sleep as possible, but it's not to the point where I would be this tired before. Riding ED is probably the only thing I know of that could be causing this.

lovbyts is offline Knowledgeable Member