• 3 Post By NACH3
  • 4 Post By marcus300
  • 1 Post By marcus300
  • 3 Post By 600@50
  • 2 Post By Buster Brown

Thread: Skullcrushers

Splifton is offline Associate Member

Skullcrushers

Obviously I'm still new to physically understanding every exercise vs. memorizing words out of a book.

Does anyone else have the notion that skull crushers may do more harm than good? I feel doing kickbacks with a light dumbbell is just as effective and there isn't the possibility of unnecessary shearing force.

Anyone else notice this or eliminated the exercise from their own protocol?

Mitch535 is offline Junior Member
    I still do skullcrushers. With poor form it can absolutely wreck your elbows no doubt. With controlled motion and good form, I get an excellent pump and keep these in my toolbox. I don't do them every tricep workout for sure and wouldn't teach a new lifter this movement, but I wouldn't toss it out as an effective movement.

I use dumbbells, but with a pretty light weight. I definitely feel it regardless of how little I'm moving when I take it slow.

I probably put too much on then when I did the barbell skull crusher. Do you allow your elbows to continue past 90 degrees on the eccentric part of the lift?

Buster Brown is offline Knowledgeable Member
    Skull crushers are very effective and if actually done too strict over time they will cause some joint pain in the elbow so instead of bringing the bar to the bridge of your nose bring it to your forehead or even the top of your head. They are less strict this way but still effective. Try close grip or JM presses if you want to really add some size.
    OdinsOtherSon likes this.

I'll try to integrate them here in 3-4 months instead of using dumbbells. Triceps are a rather difficult group of muscles to really get the connection going with so hopefully I'll have better control soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Splifton