jdscott is offline New Member

starting over (need advice from a veteran)

Advice from an advanced lifter who has been through this would be greatly appreciated. I have been working out for over 8 years and have never taken off more than 2 weeks every year for rest. For the first time ever I have been out of the gym for 3 months due to injuries (small injuries that added up and couldn't be worked through like I usually do). My first day back from this 3 month layoff was 11/10/03. Before starting back working out I could not wait to get into the gym. Once I had my first workout I was crushed mentally due to the strength I had lost. Before my layoff my max was: squat 375 for 3, bench press 325 for 3, deadlift 505 for 2. I max maybe once a month and my rep range when not maxing was 6 to 8. My bodyweight was 183 at 9% bodyfat. I now weigh 186 and bodyfat at around 15%. I could barely get 185lb for 4 sets of 10 on the squat and then tried 225 just to see if I could get 1 or 2 reps and couldn't do it! How long will this last and what kind of workout should I use to get back into it? Splits, reps, any advice would help. I am 100% natural and always have been but now that I am 31, I think before my layoff I was at my max potential and am going to try AS as soon as I get back up to speed.

Butch is offline Anabolic Member