Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Improving your Bench......at any level

Buster Brown is offline Knowledgeable Member

Improving your Bench......at any level

I see alot of posts about guys looking to increase there Bench or are just plain stuck. I am 44 years old and have been training since I was 16 and my Bench Press has never been impressive. A little over a year ago I started training at a gym that was mostly an old school power lifting gym and I started listening to the owner and former junior olympic record holder Ed Puopolo. Ed explained to me how you need to train specifically for that lift and how to figure out your sticking point.
    Things to look for: Lets say for example we are looking at my 1 rpm......and I failed! Well...where was my sticking point? Ususally it's in one of two places. The first is that you could not get the weight off of your chest and the second is that you could not finish the press once you got it off of your chest and missed the lockout.
    How can I improve this: If you could not get the weight off your chest then you are not exploding off of your chest. Remedy: incorperate training with bands, chains, pin presses, or the cambered bar. These are all effective tools that you can incorperate into any type of rep scheme. The idea is to check your ego in at the door and allow these tools to let you strengthen that area of your Bench. Another approach is to incorperate speed Bench's (say 50% of your 1 rpm max for 3 reps of 8 sets with a 45/60 sec rest between sets.