Gaspari1255 is offline Anabolic Member

Contemplating entering the Personal Training world...

I'm 23 years old with a bachelors degree in Justice Studies. Law Enforcement jobs are FEW and far between in New Jersey, and being a white male does not help my case what so ever. With that being said, I need to start looking into some other line of work until the economy gets better, or my skin color changes, and quite frankly - I don't see either one happening any time soon.

I've been bouncing clubs/bars/lounges for the past five years and I think I've reached the pinnacle. I'm at the point now where I'm ready to snap in a second if someone even looks at me the wrong way, simply because I know if I get fired, that I can go to the next club down the street and make the same measly $100 a night.

So, lately I've thinking about becoming a personal trainer, but I really don't know much about the pay, the basics, or how to even get started. I'm knowledgeable on diet and training, and "look" like I know what I am doing - I'm sitting at 270lbs at 6'3", somewhere around 18-20% bf..

So my questions are:

1.) How easy or hard is to become a certified trainer? I've heard some people say its a long process and I've heard others say that they can take some bs online course and get certified.

2.) Where do you get your clients from? Does the gym help you out or you have to go out and find your own, and have them sign up at that gym?

3.) What does the average pay look like?

4.) How easy/difficult is to have a gym let you work there (with no experience)?

bigZthedestroyer is offline Anabolic Member~Recognized Member Winner - $100