Bastard Samurai is offline Associate Member

Long term dieting (for 30+lbs loss)

I'm 28 years old and 185 lbs. I'm looking to cut about 30-35lbs off my frame over the course of the remainder of the year (for MMA/MT purposes). I'm now more into functional muscle and strength for fighting instead of for size and appearance.

I've been looking at all the cutting diets and they all seem geared towards short-term weight loss (good for pre-contest/fight) but not necessarily for the long term. I would like to "float" around 150 thereby making it easier to cut down to about 135-147lbs. Just having trouble getting started, a point into the right direction or example would be greatly appreciated.

BS

BWhitaker is offline Senior Member
    whats your current bf%

sorry, about 18-20% bf @ 5' 9", I'm in my last year of college and can start planning a proper diet and actually be able to follow it. Thanks.
    Last edited by Bastard Samurai; 05-03-2008 at 11:54 PM.

200byjune is offline Senior Member
    why do u want to cut it in a year?

Panzerfaust is offline Ron Paul Nuthugger
    The cutting diet is not geared toward just for someone cutting down for a show. It is a cutting diet for dropping body fat, regardless of what you are doing it for.
    ***No source checks!!!***

StoneGRMI is offline Giggity Giggity Giggty!
    Blog Entries
    ^ Word. I've ran similar cutters for months at a time.

audis4 is offline Eat, Sleep, Lift...Repeat!
    Who said they were geared towards short term weight loss?
    almost 2 years ago when i started getting serious about dieting/training, I cut for the better part of 9 months.

The whole point of cutting is to start at maintenance cals and slowly (i mean slowly) drop cals when you have plateaued. If done right, you will slowly begin replacing muscle with fat.

Experiment, manipulate carbs/cals whatever. Try different stuff that works better for you.