powerlifterjay is offline Respected Member

My speed work on bench for Aug 5th!!

Ok guys keep in mind i am new to this speed work. My old routine had worked great for me and i always said i had decent speed considering. Well i listend to you guys but tested the waters on actual speed. How?? We had a stop watch. Thats right a stop watch! Thew watch started when the bar was at lockout and right when the elbows broke it went on. Then at the lockout of the third rep it stopped. weights look like this

bar and green bands
    115x 3 sets of 3
    first set starts with 185 plus green bands
    185 x 3 2.1 seconds (or so)
    185 x 3 now i am below 2 seconds for 3 reps
    185 x 3 1.5 seconds were at now!!
    205 x 3 under 2 seconds
    225 x 3 just over 2 seconds
    245 x 3 2.2 ish!!
    275 x 3 2.4 seconds! All sets had green bands double looped down.

I say this time wise cause you said westside says under 3 seconds. And i also heard they were over 3. Should i have gone up like i did if i am not losing speed? I mean fast is fast right?

One thing iam not doing is catching the weight off my chest. Its hitting my chest then i am reversing it. I just am too new to catch it. Dont think i will either. My shoulders will not allow it.

Anyway i will get the form down soon. But what do you guys think on the speed? Is this correct? After this we did board presses for reps. Grimmer came to train with Jimmie Dean and I and both guys were under 3 seconds as well. Awesome workout!!

DEADLIFT FREAK is offline Junior Member
    You are a freakin bench machine!! You are like the Russian from Rocky 4, lol.

I don't think I could press the bar and no bands for 3 reps in under 2 seconds. Crazy!

IrishPower is offline Junior Member
    hey pljay:

have you had a chance to look at my journal at any of our speed days recently? dave t said they were the appropriate speed and form.

talk soon. sorry i didnt call 2night... i got stuck at work.

/irish

bigokie is offline Junior Member