mas-polloxxx is offline Junior Member

bench shirt sizing

this is my first time using a shirt for bench,not sure if I have the right size. I used the sizing chart from inzer, . . .shirt is the rage size 48. sleeves came to just below elbows, pits were barely snug. my raw bench is 315, with the shirt I threw on 225, the bar came down 3-4 inches. 315 the bar came down 4-5 inches, nowhere close to my chest. does this sound normal? its tight as f^&k on my chest and tore up back of my upper tri, i could care less about, but i want to know if my sizing sounds way off, or ok. how long could it take before the bar can travel to my chest.
    thanks

quarry206 is offline Senior Member
    i will be honest i have never used a shirt so i'm not sure about too much.. but..

there was a post on here if u search i don't remember what it was under from about six to seven months ago where a few of the guys talked about new bench shirts and sizing.. and what you are saying sounds normal for a new shirt. i believe there addive was to wet it. but best to search for the old post, its somewhere on here

Tony Q is offline Junior Member
    You need to tuck your elbows and bench towards your belly. Drive the bar back when you press... I compete at 198 and a 48 is a good fit for me... Benching with a Rage X is NOT the same as raw benching. Not even close...

THE_FREAK is offline New Member
    i agree with tony Q benching with a shirt is a lot different. i have been using my 48 rage for about 2 months and i am still about an inch off my chest (shirt is a size to small need a new one) i do suggest learning the form before you put to much weight on the bar to prevent injuries and from personal experience chalk up your hands a least for me the new form was hard on my grip and i had a close call when the bar slipped off my palm.
    i learned the form from reading the post on this site and watching videos of the pro's at competitions.