ward065 is offline Member

Question Lifting/ wrist straps or not when working out?

I was reading in the latest MD magazine Charles Glass's column and someone asked him about lifting straps. He said to not use them unless it is near the end of your workout and your grip is getting fatigued. He said a bad grip can lead to bad forearms.

However, i have been using wrist straps for about 8 months now and before i was using them my wrists would always kill me and force me to drop the weight, preventing the muscles from being fully taxed. Since i started using straps for the many upper body movements (shrugs, deadlifts, chin ups, reverse and wrist curls) the pain in my wrists has significantly decreased and i think i have gotten stronger.

But is it bad to use wrist straps with these exercises? I know i must have a strong grip........to deadlift a bar over 400lbs for reps, even with wrist straps... doesn't my grip HAVE to be strong to lift it? Because i find if my wrists are really bothering me i am not working the targeted muscle to its full potential. Additionally my forearms are not small....they are 13.5" with 17.7" upper arms

Finally....... i am not sure though if he was talking about wrist straps or some of those things some guys use on a good portion of their forearms too......he was talking about "lifting straps"
    Last edited by ward065; 02-12-2006 at 12:52 AM.

D7M
    D7M is offline AR-Elite Hall of Famer (RETIRED)
    Blog Entries
    I used to use them alot, but got away from it recently. I find chalk works just as good. My wrists kill me sometimes, too. So I just wrap my wrist.

That's just my .02, gotta find what works for you.

Myka is offline Made Of Sugar
    I would say that guy was speaking theoretically...In threory the wrist straps would make it easier so you could relax your grip therefore not working the forearm...but I have to use them for my wrists too...and I dont have a problem with forearm size or grip when I need it...