F4iGuy is offline Senior Member

Stronger, not gaining weight, have ?'s

Recently I started training with a partner. My weights have gone up steadily over the past few months. I hit each muscle once per week. I vary my sets/reps but its usually 3 exercises, 4 sets per exercise, reps around 6-10 for each muscle.
    Here's where I'm confused. I've gone up in weights, 10-15 pounds on most exercises, but my bodyweight hasn't budged. What gives? Do i need to do more than 8 reps per set? I'm eating six meals per day, and keeping the calories high. I'm 25, 5'6", 174 lbs., 8% B.f., natural. I know there's a zillion variables but what I'm wondering is if I do more reps, even though I'd sacrafice a little strength, would I gain mass? I'm nervous about going lighter.

MuscleScience is offline ~AR-Elite-Hall of Famer~
    Blog Entries
    one part of strength training is that your also training the nervous system to operate more effectively. You may experiance an increase in strength without an overall increase in body wieght. Also you may stay the same weight but your Lean body mass may increase. How long have you been training for? that will be a better way of us helping figuring out your particular situation.

F4iGuy is offline Senior Member
    Started traing at 19, so 5-6 years. I thought I wouldn't hit 170, now I'm on my way to 180. The progress has definetly slowed though. I know the direct route is to up the calories, but I do and just gain fat around the waist. SO I'm wondering what I can do training wise. I'm not sure I'm training my muscles often enough, My routine looks like this:

Mon: Thighs/Bi's
    Thighs: 3 exercises, 4 sets each, reps around 7-9
    Bi's: 3 exercises, 3 sets each, reps 8-10

Tues: Chest/Tri's
    Chest: 3 exercises, 4 sets each, reps around 7-9
    Tris: 3 exercises, 4 sets each, reps around 7-9

Thurs: Back/Shoulders
    Back: 3 exercises, 4 sets each, reps around 7-9
    Shoulders: 3 exercises, 3 sets each, reps 8-10

Fri: Traps/Calves/Abs