lestat85 is offline Associate Member

Leg Press foot placement

I've always done my leg press with my feet high on the platform, so that my knees do not pass my toes. I've been noticing though that most guys place their feet lower and are not concerned with their knees passing their toes.

Have I been doing this exercise wrong and missing out on the full benefit of it, or is it simply about preference?

Soar is offline Productive Member
    I'm not sure if its that critical, tho I move my feet slightly on each set just incase.

likelifting is offline Senior Member
    IMO, you were doing it right. I look at it like a box squat. Your feet are quite a ways in front, like your feet high on the platform. Seems right to me, but I'm no expert.

The other things that stood out to me when I was working with my PT buddy, was he said to push with my heels. I guess it brings in the hammys and glutes instead of overloading the quads???

I'm in for answers on this.

From what the PT I used to work with explained, pushing through your heels is supposed to help keep the pressure on the muscles instead of the knee joint.

I chose my foot placement, exactly as mentioned above. Looked at it like squatting and have always been told and read that knees should never pass toes, to protect the knee joint.

Zodiac82 is offline AR's Scrapple Lover
    pushin with ur heels emphasizes that hamstrings....so the higher ur feet the more focus in ur hammys and the lower ur feet brings focus in on ur quads....I move my feet around....as stated by soar
    it's a preference thing

Quote Originally Posted by cancer82
    pushin with ur heels emphasizes that hamstrings....so the higher ur feet the more focus in ur hammys and the lower ur feet brings focus in on ur quads....I move my feet around....as stated by soar
    it's a preference thing
    I've been misunderstanding the pushing through the heels part of this for a while. Thank you for this clarification.