Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GearHeaded

Thread: Advice on routine

DuckTheViking is offline Junior Member

Advice on routine

Hi guys,

Am 44, 218lbs, 6'4", 21.3% BF, almost total novice - I lifted a fair bit in my 20s, but hardly been in a gym since then. I am trying reach 15% BF and reassess next steps then. The last 4 months of 2017 I attempted to dial in training and nutrition. Since mid Jan 2018 (6 weeks) I have followed the below program.

Monday: Legs
    Weighted lunges 3 x 15
    Deadlifts 4 x 10
    Weighted step-ups 3 x 12
    Leg press - wide stance 4 x 12
    Leg curls 3 x 12
    Double leg calf press leg machine 4 x 25
    Cardio 30 min

Tuesday: Chest / tri
    Barbell flat bench press 4 x 10
    Flat dumbbell flyes 2 x 10
    Incline dumbbell press 4 x 10
    Incline dumbbell flyes 2 x 10
    Cable tricep pushdown rope - 4 x 12
    Tricep cable overhead extension rope - 4 x 12
    Cardio 30 min

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: Legs (again)
    Squats 4 x 10
    Weighted lunges 3 x 12
    Leg press narrow stance 4 x 12
    Leg extension 3 x 12
    Jump squats 3 x 12
    No cardio

Friday: Back / Biceps
    Barbell flat bench press 4 x 3 (heavier weights than Tuesday)
    Bent over barbell row 3 x 12
    Seated row 3 x 12
    Wide grip pulldown 3 x 12
    Dumbbell single arm rows 3 x 10
    Barbell curls 4 x 10
    Dumbbell hammer curls 4 x 10
    Cardio 30 min

Saturday: Shoulders
    Seated dumbbell shoulder press 4 x 12
    Dumbbell lat raises 3 x 12
    Upright dumbbell rows 3 x 10
    Dumbbell front raises 3 x 10
    Dumbbell bent over rear delt flyes 2 x 15
    Cardio 30 min

Sunday: Rest

I do about 60 second rest between arm sets, 90 second rest between sets on chest/back/shoulder, 90-120 second rest on legs.