Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuff Love

Lunk1 is offline aka "JOB"

Tuff Love

Does this form of dicipline work on young kids and teens? Explain....

Capebuffalo is offline - MONITOR -
    If it tells you anything I am a result of tuff love.

JohnnyVegas is offline Knowledgeable Member- Recognized Member Winner - $100
    I am no expert, but I have done some reading over the years and it seems to be something I would use as a last resort on a problem child. It doesn't really help a kid grow or learn. It just tries to discourage behavior by applying negative reinforcement.

Interested to see what others say.

Knowing I was getting an apple tree what we call a switch from my mom and a leather belt from my dad when a letter would come home from school kept very few letters from coming home. Having to work for things I wanted taught me value of hard work. Having to take responsibility for my mistakes and make it right with whom ever taught me respect.

Coddling children gives a false sense of entitlement. That's a problem in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Capebuffalo View Post
    Knowing I was getting an apple tree what we call a switch from my mom and a leather belt from my dad when a letter would come home from school kept very few letters from coming home. Having to work for things I wanted taught me value of hard work. Having to take responsibility for my mistakes and make it right with whom ever taught me respect.
    Totally agree with the second two things you said and I learned those lessons too...but I learned them without the threat of violence.

Hunter is offline Grateful
    Define tough love?

Do you mean beating your kids and verbally assualting them? Then no