Warrior21 is offline Associate Member

Haven't gotten stronger (or more muscular) in 3 years, any thoughts?

Well the title pretty much says it all. I've been lifting for 5 years and haven't seen gains in 3 years. We can attribute the first 2 years of gains to newb gains I'm guessing.
    When I first started I did my PL coaches routine which called for training each muscle about 2x a week. All the core lifts were trained once a week. After that I moved on to training each muscle group once a week for about 8 months. I didn't gain shit off of training everything once a week. A good 1 and a half years into lifting I started doing Westside Barbell. Me and my brother even went down to meet Bob Youngs and train with him for a day. I've read all the articles on www.elitefts.com, and pretty much know how to train. I'm a certified personal trainer if it's relevant at all here.
    I trained Westside for about 2.5 years. Just six months ago I decided that it wasn't helping me at all and I switched over to High Frequency routines. I train each muscle group 4 times a week now with very little volume and all compound movements. I always avoid failure and generally leave 2-3 reps in the tank.
    I've tried many different methods. I've trained intense as hell and to failure on most sets. I figured that wasn't helping, so I decreased the intensity and now leave a couple reps in the tank each set. I find that I am less sore now, but I do not get stronger. I have not gained any strength in 3 years.
    Actually its safe to say that I was alot stronger 2 years into lifting than I am now.
    For some reason I could take 2 weeks off of squatting, and when I get back to it I decrease like 75lbs on my squat. Deadlifts are the same way.
    This is very frustrating, anyone have any ideas? I'm a fully healthy individual, besides naturally high estrogen levels.

2deizel is offline Associate Member
    (mr test)

ironaddict69 is offline Senior Member